Barbara Timmermann

  • University Distinguished Professor
  • School of Pharmacy - Medicinal Chemistry
Malott Hall, Room 4004
University of Kansas
1251 Wescoe Hall Drive
Lawrence, KS 66045-7582


  • Ph.D., Botany (Phytochemistry), University of Texas at Austin
  • M.A., Botany (Phytochemistry), University of Texas at Austin
  • B.S., Biological Sciences, Universidad Nacional de Cordoba, Argentina


Distinguished Professor Barbara Timmermann joined the School of Pharmacy in August of 2005. She served as chair of the Department of Medicinal Chemistry from August 2005 to December 2012. She came to KU after an academic career of close to 25 years at the University of Arizona, where she attained the title of Regents Professor. She was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2001 and as a Fellow of the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) in 2014.

Awards & Honors

  • National Institutes of Health (NIH/NCCIH) National Advisory Council Member, 2018-2021
  • Fellow, American Society of Pharmacognosy, 2014
  • President, American Society of Pharmacognosy, 2011-2012
  • Honorary Member, American Society of Pharmacognosy, 2018
  • Inducted to Women's Hall of Fame, University of Kansas, 2014
  • Woman of Distinction, University of Kansas, August 2006
  • University Distinguished Professor, University of Kansas, May 2005-present
  • Chair, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Kansas, 2005-2012
  • Director:
    • NIH Center of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) Center for Cancer Experimental Therapeutics (CCET), 2005-2012
    • NIH International Cooperative Biodiversity Groups (ICBG) Program, 1993-2005
    • NIH Botanical Research Center, Arizona Center for Phytomedicine Research, 2000-2005
    • NIH Minority International Research Training (MIRT) Project, 2000-2005
    • USAID University Development Linkages Program USA-Chile ,1993-2000
  • Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Natural Products, 2002-present
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH/NCCAM), National Advisory Council Member, 2001-2005
  • Regents Professor, University of Arizona, February 2000
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), February 2000
  • Member, Executive and Scientific Advisory Committees: AAAS Western Hemisphere Cooperation Program, 1992-2002
  • Research Support as PI: National Institutes of Health (NIH); National Science Foundation (NSF); US Department of Agriculture (USDA); US Agency for International Development (USAID); The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation; Tinker Foundation; Arizona Disease Control Research Commission; Kansas Bioscience Authority; various pharmaceutical and chemical corporate grants.

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU