Caswell honored as KU Pharmacy Distinguished Service Award recipient

Brian Caswell
Brian Caswell, Class of 1987
Baxter Springs, KS

Brian Caswell, a 1987 graduate of the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy and a Baxter Springs pharmacist and pharmacy owner, will be recognized tonight as the school’s 2024 Distinguished Service Award recipient. The award honors individuals who have demonstrated selfless and sustained service and leadership in advancement of the pharmacy profession, their communities and the School of Pharmacy.

“Brian is a kind, gregarious and genuine person,” said Dean Ronald Ragan. “Those qualities extend to his professional life where he is driven to achieve excellence in all he does. Brian is known for making a difference for his patients, his local communities and the pharmacy profession.”

As an owner of four pharmacies in Southeast Kansas and Southwest Missouri, Caswell has been a tireless advocate for the independent pharmacy owner. He is past president of the Kansas Pharmacists Association and the National Community Pharmacists Association where he lobbied legislators and Congress to improve the footing of small town, independent pharmacies in a competitive and challenging market.

“The leadership Brian has provided in these organizations is bringing positive change to the profession and continues to help elected officials understand the critical role of pharmacy in the healthcare continuum,” said Ragan.

In addition to his advocacy on the state and national level, Caswell has been a loyal supporter of the School of Pharmacy. He serves on the school’s advisory council and has been a dedicated preceptor, hosting students for their experiential education requirements. He’s also hired KU students following graduation who continue to manage stores for him 10 years later.

“I’m deeply touched by this recognition,” said Caswell, who has been running Wolker Drug in Baxter Springs for nearly 30 years. “Being honored by your peers and your alma mater is the greatest recognition of all. I love this institution so much, and this means a lot to me. This profession continues to reward me beyond my deserving.”

Dean Ron Ragan (L) and Brian Caswell (R)
Dean Ron Ragan (L) and Brian Caswell (R) at the presentation of the Distinguished Service Award, April 12 at the Pharmacy Building in Lawrence.