Phi Lambda Sigma is the national pharmacy leadership society that recognizes, honors, and develops leadership qualities. Society members are selected by their peers. No greater honor can be bestowed upon an individual than to be recognized as a leader by one’s peers. Such recognition instills and enhances self confidence and encourages student involvement, promoting greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy.

Membership in Phi Lambda Sigma crosses fraternal and organizational lines. We do not compete with other pharmacy organizations. Criteria for membership includes dedicated service and leadership in the advancement of pharmacy, high moral and ethical character, completion of at least one professional year upon initiation in the fall, achievement of a 2.50 scholastic grade point average or higher (special exceptions apply), and active involvement in advancing the profession of pharmacy through demonstrated leadership in local, state, and national professional pharmacy organizations.

The KU chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma is the Beta Iota Chapter, one of the newer chapters in the national organization, which has been promoting and advancing leadership in pharmacy since 1965.

On the local level, KU’s chapter participates in many volunteer and fundraising activities. From the chili feed in the fall to the ice cream social in the spring, Phi Lambda Sigma raises money in support of the Student Activity Fund. In addition, each year Phi Lambda Sigma participates in the Charles Thomas Leadership Challenge Project, a competition in which chapters across the nation submit proposals for plans to build leaders within their school. In recent years, the Beta Iota chapter has won the national competition, granting the funds to turn ideas into a reality for the KU School of Pharmacy.

Contact: Erin O'Grady (KU Phi Lambda Sigma President)

Officers & Advisors


Title Name
President Erin O'Grady
Vice President Mary Thorne
Tresurer Tessa Schnelle
Secretary Kami Nimitz
New Member Coordinators Cassidy Dixon, Halley Dorn, Mackenzie Magid, Lydia Jalowiec
Lawrence Activities Coordinator Bailey Imm
Historian Alli Florack
Alumni Coordinator Daniel Pons
Wichita Liason Brandon Blehm
Wichita Activities Coordinator ​Blade Black


Karen Moeller

Contact Advisor
2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to needy Kansans during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU