• Home
  • Admission
  • Financial Aid & Scholarships
  • Borchardt Award and Scholarships

Borchardt Family Pharmaceutical Sciences Award and Scholarships

The Borchardt Family Pharmaceutical Sciences Award  is presented to a graduating Pharm.D. student who has been accepted into a graduate program in basic pharmaceutical sciences. Preference is given to students who plan to pursue a career as a pharmacy school faculty member. Deadlines and application procedures will be announced by the dean.

The Borchardt Family Pharmaceutical Sciences Scholarship is presented to up to two Pharm.D. students in their final (P4) year. Applicants should be interested in research and aspire to pursue graduate school and a career in academics. Applicants must have an excellent academic record and a mentor from one of the pharmaceutical science departments. Deadlines and application procedures will be announced by the dean.

Scholarships are also available for P3 Pharm.D. students who have enrolled in a research elective and are interested in pursuing an career in academics.

The amounts of the award and scholarships and the recipients are determined by a committee consisting of faculty from the departments of Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, and Pharmacology and Toxicology. See links below for scholarship information and application instructions.

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU