The KU School of Pharmacy is a world-class research institution and one of the country’s premier pharmacy schools. We train the pharmacists who serve the people of Kansas and researchers who help solve the world’s most pressing medical problems. 

Our Pharm.D. Program offers a doctor of pharmacy degree for students who want to be pharmacy practitioners. Students enter the four-year program after completing two years of pre-pharmacy work. Approximately 150 students are accepted to the program each year, including 20 on the Wichita campus.

In addition to the Pharm.D. Program, the KU School of Pharmacy has four departments; Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacology & Toxicology, and Pharmacy Practice. The departments of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Medicinal Chemistry, and Pharmaceutical Chemistry offer master’s and doctor of philosophy degrees. The Department of Pharmacy Practice offers a master’s degree and a residency program.

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU