Student Society of Health System Pharmacists (SSHP) helps students interested in health-system pharmacy learn more about careers in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care and other health care settings. 

Contact: Chloe Ortbals (KU SSHP President)


Title Name
President Chole Ortbals
President Elect Sydney Markley
Vice President Devin Fitzgerald
Secretary Anthony Batiz
Treasurer Mikaela McCabe
Membership Chair Tumi Osunsanmi
Community Service Chair Matie Meeks
Midyear Meeting Chair Julie Spangler
Fundraising Chairs Jayda Minor & Diana Kim
Social Chair Emily Nicholson
GKCSHP Liason Jenny Lu
Wichita Liasons Zach Wellner & Tammy Nguyen

Tiffany Shin

David Henry

Pharmacy Skills Competition
Each fall, SSHP hosts a clinical skills competition, in which students work in teams of two to review a patient case and produce a treatment plan using knowledge gained from the classroom. The winning team earns free registration to the midyear meeting and competes at the national competition.

  • Lawrence Memorial Hosptial Health Fair
  • Lawrence Memorial Hosptial Flu Clinic 
  • Healthcare Access Flu Clinic
  • The Big Event 
  • Stop Stroke Education Clinic 

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU