• Home
  • Jeff and Sherry Denton earn school's top honor

Jeff and Sherry Denton earn school's top honor

Wednesday, October 1, 2014


The University of Kansas School of Pharmacy presented its Distinguished Service Award to Jeff and Sherry Denton of Salina on Friday, September 26 at the School of Pharmacy building in Lawrence. Jeff Denton, a 1965 graduate of the School of Pharmacy, is part owner of B&K Prescription Shop in Salina.  Sherry Denton, a 1966 graduate, is a pharmacist at Salina Regional Health Center.

Established last year, the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy Distinguished Service Award hon­ors individuals who have demonstrated selfless and sustained service and leadership in advancement of the profession, their communities and the School of Pharmacy.

In addition to serving as a mentor to many School of Pharmacy students and graduates over the years, Jeff and Sherry Denton have served on countless committees and boards for the pharmacy profession on both the state and national level. They have been active members of the Salina Community, not only through their work as pharmacists but also by donating their time, expertise and resources to community organizations and projects.

School of Pharmacy Dean Ken Audus said the school has honored distinguished alumni in the past, but began giving the annual Distinguished Service Award last year.

“Whether they are practitioners or researchers, those in the pharmacy profession are known for their generosity and service to the community, the profession and the school,” Audus said.  “We decided last year it was time to recognize them for the amazing work they continue to perform, both professionally and personally. Max Heidrick of Beloit, Kansas was our first recipient, and Sherry and Jeff Denton are the second and third. I told them I would let them decide who is second and who is third.”

Audus said selection committee members, which included Heidrick, made an excellent choice when they selected the Jeff and Sherry Denton to receive the school’s highest honor.

“I can think of no two people more deserving of this award than Jeff and Sherry Denton. The countless hours they have spent mentoring our students over the years, the financial support they have provided to the program and its students and the contributions they have made to the profession of pharmacy make each of them an ideal recipient of the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy Distinguished Service Award,” Audus said.

Coronavirus Update

You Can Still Reach Us

Academic Support Services

Academic support services typically accessed via the Dean’s office are still available by appointment via phone/Skype/Zoom. Please contact KU School of Pharmacy Student Services at rxstudentservices@ku.edu.

Prospective Students
(future freshmen or transfers)

KU is offering limited on-campus visits. Learn more at Visiting KU. The School of Pharmacy offers phone appointments for pre-pharmacy guidance. Please contact Admissions Representative Chris Claussen at rxadmissions@ku.edu.

Pre-Pharmacy Students

Pre-pharmacy students seeking guidance may still schedule phone appointments. Please contact Admissions Representative Chris Claussen at rxadmissions@ku.edu.

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU