The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) is dedicated to the continuing growth and prosperity of independent community pharmacy. KU's student chapter creates opportunities for pharmacy students to learn about career opportunities in independent pharmacy and to develop working relationships with pharmacists and pharmacy owners across the state.

Contact: Cole Kendall (KU NCPA Chapter President)


Title Name
President Cole Kendall
President Elect Andrea Buss
Vice President
Heidi Stegman
Ellie Heim
Treasurer Mady Nestor
Community Service Chairs Janel Baker & Emily Lucas
Fundraising Chairs
Brad Southard & Angela Baalmann
Legislative Chairs Emerencia Ashu & Vincent Tabares
Social Chairs Sara Strand & Katelyn Shepard
Historian Lacey Waterman
Travel Chairs Mackenzie Hughes & Megan Sherrell
Wichita Liaison Myles Carter


Gene Hotchkiss
Dennis Grauer

NCPA Road Trip

Senior Associate Dean Gene Hotchkiss leads students on a three-day trip across Kansas to visit independent pharmacies and their owners each year before the start of the spring semester.



2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU