The American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) strives to be the collective voice of student pharmacists. With more than 30,000 members nationwide, APhA represents professionals from all pharmacy career paths. 

Contact: Melanie Sharpnack (KU APhA-ASP President)


Title Name
President Melanie Sharpnack
President-Elect Madeline Woodard
VP Patient Care Sami El-Qadi
VP Membership Kristen Sayegh
VP Administrative Operations  Madison Schmucker
VP Finance Bradly Hugunin
VP Communication Christan Isch
VP Policy Pooja Poladia
VP Wichita Affairs Zach Wellner
VP Wichita Patient Care Kim Kim


Joe Heidrick
Robert Emerson
Jessica Bates
Amy Robertson


Campus Convention 
The school's largest student-run event brings together current and pre-pharmacy students with professional pharmacists for a day of conversations, panel discussions and informational sessions.


Operation Immunization 
Every year, KU SOP students hosts a free flu vaccine clinic in Wichita. Students from both campuses, under the supervision of faculty, administer more than 1,000 flu shots to people who might not otherwise be able to afford them.



2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU