• Home
  • Convocation programs welcome new pharmacy students

Convocation programs welcome new pharmacy students

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

The KU School of Pharmacy will host its annual P1 Professionalism Convocation ceremonies next month at the Lawrence and Wichita campuses.

The Convocation ceremony officially welcomes and inducts first-year pharmacy students into the School of Pharmacy and the pharmacy profession.

Fourth-year pharmacy student Lauren Schleicher will deliver the keynote address at the Lawrence ceremony, 6 p.m. Wednesday, September 4 at the Lied Center of Kansas. 

The Wichita ceremony is at 6 p.m., Tuesday, September 10 in the Robert’s Amphitheater on the Wichita campus. Fourth-year student Linda Smith will deliver the keynote address.

Dean Ron Ragan will officiate both events.

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU